top of page

Release date: 1st November 2022



This book will be accessible free-of-charge in PDF format by clicking here. Please consider supporting us by making a donation through our Books page.




We offer worldwide delivery on all orders. But please note that postal services vary around the world and delivery speeds depend on the country, customs procedures and the item you are ordering. 


We do not currently offer tracked delivery.


If there is a problem with your order please contact with your order number and we will endeavour to get back to you as soon as possible. Please note that we are a small publishing house so it may take between 3-4 days before you receive a response – we thank you for your patience.

Shake the City by Alexander Billet

  • Shake the City: Experiments in Space and Time, Music and Crisis

              — Alexander Billet


    What is the relationship between music and radical social change? This book explores their confounding and exciting interrelations in original and engaging ways.


    Beginning with how capitalism and empire have progressively twisted and atomized our aurally aesthetic experiences over the past century, Alexander Billet examines how social struggles and mass protests challenge the isolation and commodification of music, a challenge which can, in turn, suggest visions of a life lived collectively and on our own terms.


    Part manifesto, part theoretical exegesis, part love letter to human creativity, Shake the City is a rigorous and poetic plea for our world to be as musical as we deserve it to be.


    'This is a book about how music is used to teach conformism, from muzak, through gentrification, to the isolation of our earbud world. And it is a book about how artists have rebelled, raging against racists and authoritarians, and fighting to remake musical forms. You'll find on Alexander Billet's pages a dazzling array of characters, from Erik Satie and the clubbers of the 1980s rave scene, to Skepta and Lethal Bizzle, by way of the Ramones. Read, resist, and make music ours once more.'

    — David Renton, author of Never Again: Rock Against Racism and the Anti-Nazi League, 1976-82 (Routledge, 2018).

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page